Predatory journals, publishers and conferences are on the rise and becoming increasingly sophisticated. These practices prey on the pressure researchers feel to publish and present their work, and include pay-to-publish/present models without peer review, fake editorial boards listing respected scientists, fraudulent impact factors, journal and conference names deceptively similar to those of legitimate ones, and spam invitations to sham conferences with high registration fees.

Led by an independent working group of international experts nominated by academies around the world, this IAP study set out to improve the understanding of what constitutes predatory practices, gauge their prevalence and impact, identify their root causes, and review efforts to address them. A key part of the study has been a voluntary survey of the global research community to gauge the awareness, extent and impact of predatory journals and conferences across different geographies, disciplines and career stages. Additionally, the study has hosted a series of stakeholder consultations by sector, and a programme of regional webinars partnership with the IAP Regional Networks (AASSA, EASAC, IANAS and NASAC), the Global Young Academy (GYA), and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS).

As a partner of this project National Young Academy of Bangladesh (NYAB) is committed to and working actively towards achieving the goal. 

Lead of this project 

Dr. Mainul Hossain

Assistant Professor

Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering



Key Partners

 Dr. Sajid Muhaimin Choudhury 

Assistant Professor

Department of Electrical Electronic Engineering



Dr. Mohammed Abdul Basith 


Department of Physics



Dr. Sabrina Moriom Elias 

Assistant Professor

Department of Life Sciences,

School of Environment & Life Sciences



Research Assistants

Sristy Sangskriti


Zannatul Mumtarin Moushumy


Name: Subrata Das

Highest degree: BSc

Institute: Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology

Email address: 

Research interest: Semiconductor device physics

Name: Professor Dr. Md. Faruq Hasan

Highest Degree: Ph.D. From Osaka University, Japan

Institute: Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Dinajpur

Email address:

Research Interest: Public policy analysis for sustainable agricultural and rural development.

Name: Fahmida Sharmin

Highest degree: MSc. In Physics (Dept. of Physics, University of Dhaka)

Email address:

Research interest: Materials science, Nanotechnology, Photocatalysis, Wastewater treatment

Name: Mariam Hussain 

Highest Degree: MS in Environmental Science & Engineering

Institution: Asian University for Women

Email address: 

Research Interest: data-driven modeling, e.g. machine learning, neural network, and statistical approach applying to extreme climate/weather systems, pollutions: air, water, and soil, renewables, and weather induced disasters, explorations of tropical climate-micro-hydro-meteorology, optimization, data-assimilation-mining, and -analysis, and numerical model physics.

Name: Md. Tanvirul Islam

Highest Degree: B.Sc in Electrical and Electronic Engineering (Currently studying)

Institution: Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology

Email address:

Research Interest: Probabilistic Computing, Spintronics, Nanoelectronics

Name: Himel Saha

Highest Degree: BSc in EEE (Currently studying)

Institution: BUET

Email address:

Research Interest: Robotics

Name:Humayun Ahmed

Highest degree:BSC in engineering (currently studying) 

Institute:Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology(BUET) 

Email address:

Research interest: Artificial intelligence

Name: Rubayat Jalal

Highest degree: BSC in engineering (currently studying) 

Institute: Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology(BUET) 

Email address:

Workshop on Increasing Awareness on Predatory Academic Practices

International Poster Presentation Competition against Predatory Practices

International Workshop on Increasing Awareness on Predatory Practices

Poster Competition winner

Fahmida Sharmin

Bangladesh Univ of Engg and Tech (BUET), Bangladesh

Click here to see the poster

Honorable Mentions

  1. Mushfika Ikfat, Bangladesh Univ of Engg and Tech (BUET), Bangladesh [Poster]
  2. Tharaka Wijerathna, University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka. [Poster]
  3. Shomoita Sayed, Purdue University, USA. [Poster]
  4. Shovon Chakraborty, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh. [Poster]
  5. D. Gayangi Nawanjana Perera, University of Colombo, Sri . [Poster]