NYAB Outstanding Doctoral Research Award 2021

Call for Applications

In order to promote and recognize excellence in doctoral research in Bangladesh, the National Young Academy of Bangladesh (NYAB) has decided to award the NYAB Outstanding Doctoral Research Award 2021.   Candidates are invited to make their submissions at the link below.

Link for submission:

NYAB Outstanding Doctoral Research Award Application Form


  1. Life Sciences and Medicine
  2. Applied Sciences and Engineering
  3. Physical Sciences
  4. Agriculture and Veterinary
  5. Social Sciences and Humanities


  • The Ph.D. degree should be awarded by a recognized Bangladeshi university
  • The date of award should be between 1 July 2019 and 30 June 2021

     Submission list

  • Soft copy of the dissertation
  • Personal statement expressing significance of the research presented in the dissertation
  • Evidence of date of award
  • Publications based on the research from this dissertation (if any)
  • Submitted research articles from this dissertation (if any)
  • Description of recognition/award received for research presented in the dissertation (if any)
  • Plagiarism check report (if available)
  • Letter of reference highlighting significance of the doctoral research (optional)

     The submissions will be judged on

  • Overall quality of the dissertation
  • Publications based on the research presented in the dissertation for doctoral degree
  • Novelty/originality of the research and contribution to the field
  • Reproducibility and soundness of research methodology / technique
  • Presentation quality of the research in the dissertation
  • Scholarly insight
  • Personal statement and/or letter(s) of reference and/or recognition

A handful of shortlisted candidates will be invited for a presentation on their doctoral research.

Important dates

  • Call for submissions: 20 August 2021
  • Deadline for submissions: 30 September 2021
  • Judges evaluation to be in by: 31 October 2021
  • Presentations and final results by: 15 November 2021



Review committee:

1. Prof. Dr. Md. Saidur Rahman, BUET


2. Prof. Dr. Khaliquzzaman M Elias, NSU (Retired)


3. Prof. Dr. Hasan Ahmad, RU


4. Prof. Dr. Rahmatullah Imon, Ball State Univ., USA


5. Dr. Haseeb M Irfanullah, ULAB


6. Dr. Charisma Choudhury, Leeds Univ., UK


7. Dr. Senjuti Saha, CHRF


8. Prof. Dr. Mohammed Abdul Basith, BUET


9. Prof. Dr. A B M Khademul Islam, DU, NYAB

Member Secretary